Britain Removals

Britain Removals

Croydon
Good
based on 17 reviews
member since August 2014
leave a review
Overview

Your moving journey has yet to begin!

Conveyancing

Get connected with up to 4 regulated conveyancers to save time and money.

Compare Conveyancers

Surveying

Get matched with up to 5 RICS accredited surveyors to save on your property survey.

Compare Surveyors

Removals

Get matched with up to 6 removal companies to save on your move.

Compare Movers
Reviews & Ratings
Customer Reviews
  • Jeremy Thomas

    London

    22/05/2019

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    Although they were not all wearing identical T shirts etc, they were an excellent firm of movers who did exactly what they said they would do. Only good things to say./

    Response:
    We would like to thank you for your review and we always aim to provide an excellent service
  • Bobby Kalia

    Egham

    24/04/2019

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    Highly recommended with attention to detail

    Response:
    Dear Bobby, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.We really appreciate your feedback and wish you all the best in the future. Best wishesRubi
  • Fiona Martin

    Sunbury-On-Thames

    25/04/2018

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    Very nice helpful removal men who were extremely polite and helpful. Nothing got broken and they were very hardworking. Highly recommended

    Response:
    Dear Fiona Martin We would like to thank you for your review and we always aim to provide an excellent service Regards Nicky
  • Corinne Daniels

    Croydon

    26/03/2018

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    Turned up on time and had lorries loaded up within 2 hours!! Very courteous and helpful. Were very quick unloading as well. Put everything together that needed putting together. Cheerful and pleasant through the whole experience. Definitely value for money. Would definitely use these guys again.

    Response:
    We would like to thank you for your review and we always aim to provide an excellent service
  • Helen Vosper

    Morden

    22/12/2017

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    The move was seamless and the disassemble/reassemble made life so much easier. I would definitely recommend this company.

    Response:
    We would like to thank you for your review and we always aim to provide an excellent service.
  • Simon Elund

    Croydon

    8/02/2018

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    A really good removal company to use - very good service, and only 1 item lightly damaged after a 260 mile trip. Would not hesitate to recommend.

    Response:
    We would like to thank you for your review and we always aim to provide an excellent service.
  • Paul Ralph

    Purley

    8/08/2019

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    This company gives highly competitive quotes, often (perhaps) without a survey. The customer service response is good. On the day, they turned up on time and re-considered the amount of work to be done. The head guy (asked for about 75% more. However, the office line was that we did not have to pay them more. We settled on 50% more money in cash once (and not until) everything was moved, and they worked hard to shift everything. True to say, there was more than 2 vans of things to move (by about 15 - 20%). That is why we paid more. On balance, it was a headache we didn't need. On the day, we encountered operatives from other companies who were more cheerful and less sour-faced. You pays yer money and yer takes yer choice! Hope this is a help!

  • Joanna Munden

    Carshalton

    21/03/2018

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    The move was speedy and efficient however proving extremely difficult to resolve damage done during the move and email messages and phone call messaged being ignored.

  • Carina Haughton

    Mitcham

    4/06/2019

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    The team that gave us quotes didn't include 75% of the items we showed them. The driver was only told 25%. We had to pay for a second van because of their mistake. They only had 3.5 Luton. Having never dealt with van sizes I took their word that the van would be sufficient. Had I known they only noted down 25% roughly I wouldn't of used them. The actual movers were efficient and polite and quick. Disappointed I had to pay twice for a mistake that should not have happened

    Response:
    Dear Carina,Thank you for your feedback.As we are in our busy period, we apologise for the delay in our response to your complaint.We spoke to the surveyor and he confirmed during the survey he noted all the items you indicated for the move to your new home, using this information we sent you the removal quote of a 3.5 ton Luton van and 2 professional men for £900. However if we would of known about the additional items, we would of sent you the quotation for the rest of the items as well. The reason for the survey is to make sure the customer informs us what items need moving and what service is required, this helps us to provide the best quotation and customer service.We at Britain Removals try our best to make sure all customers receive excellent customer service from the beginning to the end, and we are sorry if you felt this was not the case. However we tried to help you in your situation as much as possible. As per our terms and conditions if we are forced to wait for more than half an hour to unload your items we start to apply waiting charges which is £79.00 per hour. To help you avoid these charges our drivers gave the option to your partner to ride along with them, even though this was against company policy.We have been working as a removal company for more than 10 years and we are aware how many men and vehicles are required for each job, therefore based on the survey conducted we were confident the items you informed us would fit in a 3.5 tons van. However due to extra items which we were not aware off you required another van to complete your move, for this we discounted our price from £900 to £700. Please note we provided you a removal quotation and expected you to read it thoroughly before accepting it, and our quotations clearly states we was going to provide you one 3.5 Luton van and 2 men.You mentioned you left a few items behind even with a second van is quite surprising, again we are sorry your move did not go as planned.We wish you all the best in the future.
  • Dinple Patel

    Stanmore

    31/05/2019

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    Charged us extra because initial survey we were told that we didn’t ask for the American fridge freezer to be moved even though we stated several times that we wanted it moved. Management are not good at all but the team that did the move all brilliant. Make sure you ask for an itinerary of items being moved before signing with this company as they don’t actually send one out by default (which is what a good company should do)
    Dee

    Response:
    Dear Dinple, As we are in our busy period, we apologises for the delay in our response to your feedback. We spoke to the surveyor and he confirmed during the survey he noted all the items you indicated for the move to your new home. He asked you a few times if you were moving the American Fridge and he was informed you were not taking this with you. The reason for the survey is to make sure the customer informs us what items need moving and what service is required, this helps us to provide the best quotation and customer service. If we had knowledge you wanted to move the American Fridge we would of sent you the removal quotation based on this information. We at Britain Removals try our best to make sure all customers receive excellent customer service from the beginning to the end, and we are sorry if you felt this was not the case. We wish you all the best in the future.
  • Stephen Howlett

    Thornton Heath

    19/07/2019

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    Not much to add. They were reasonably polite on the day, but hardly professional removers!. More like a man and a van hire. They were egar to leave my old address (saying they wanted to go for lunch and then prayers) but when they got to the new address they called me - whilst I was still at the old address trying pack the last remaining items in my own car, with stuff they had left (because of lunch and prayers) and then tried to charge me for 'waiting time". After a 'discussion' they agreed to give me more time.. without a charge.
    I ended up with a scratched TV which I am now claiming for through my own insurance. Needless to say I would not recommend.

    Response:
    Dear Stephen,Thank you for your feedback, however, your attitude and behaviour towards our staff very rude.After reviewing your removal quote and speaking to the on-site supervisor you weren't liable to claim under our insurance policy.The removal quote we provided you was for £790 which included insurance, dismantling, re-assemble and transport. As we have not included any packing service or packing material within your quote we expect customers to make sure their goods are packed and ready to move on the day. On arrival at your property, you were still in the midst of packing your items and your TV was not packed using either bubble wrap or any other protective material which was your responsibility. Please note under the terms and conditions under section 26. Miscellaneous:26.15 Customer Self Packing. These clauses only apply to items which are self-packed by the customer. 26.15 .1 In the event of minor damage (e.g. a scratch, scuff mark, etc.) to any item which was packed by the customer and not by Britain Removals, Britain Removals reserve the right to refuse payment for compensation to cover the cost to repair the minor damage. 26.15 .2 If an item was packed by the customer and it is allegedly damaged during the course of the removal, it is the customer’s responsibility to prove that the item was not already damaged before the removal took place.Also during the move, our crew arrived at your new property at 11:40 am and were unable to load your items as the keys weren’t available. You informed me as you never read the terms and conditions which were provided to you during the booking process and as nothing was agreed with us prior to the removal day about waiting for the keys, to help you out as a goodwill gesture I forced my crew to wait until 1:30 pm (which is against the company’s policy). You agreed to arrive at the property with the house keys by 1:30 pm at the latest. Instead, your wife turned up at the new property around 1:45 pm with the keys to the garage, which you were in possession of since morning. My crew unloaded all items they could in the garage by 2:10 pm and again waiting around for you to arrive with the house keys. You didn’t arrive at the property until 2:35 pm and at this point, we were still waiting to receive the remaining balance even though this was clearly stated to you during the booking/removal process. We received the payment around 3:00 pm, to when we started unloading and we made sure everything was unloaded to your satisfaction. During your removal process, my crew were forced to wait a total of 3 hours and each van is charged £79.00, which we did not charge you to help you out.Please note the insurance is in our name and any insurance claims need to go through us, you can, however, try and contact them directly but please note they won’t be able to help you out.
  • Greg Ivings

    Croydon

    6/01/2018

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    We can't advise going with Britain Removals. We paid an extra £150 to have a two-man team pack up the day before to ensure a smooth moving day; in the end, we got one guy for half a day. On removals day, we were supposed to have four men to make up for this, but only got three. We only finally got out of our old property at 1630. This was stressful, and not what we paid extra for. The other key issue we had was that we were told the team would be professional packers and movers and that our goods would be carefully handled. This unfortunately didn't chime with our experiences - which thankfully nothing was broken, we had to stop them putting our TV face down on a box with no protective wrapping with another box balanced on top of it in the van, and our sofa had no protective wrapping at all when it arrived at the new address. We really don't like the idea of leaving a negative review, but unfortunately couldn't in good faith recommend this company.

    Response:
    We appreciate your feedback and on this occasion we unfortunately experienced some staffing issues due to a very busy period (time of year).This was unforeseen circumstances and because of this we sent a manager to assist on your packing/moving day. Also giving you a £50 reduction along with our focus on handling your job as effective as possible given the situation.In the end we successfully completed your move without any damage albeit slightly out of estimated timescale.We take on board your comments and strive to improve our contingency plan in future for any staffing issue(s).All the best,Nicky Britain Removals
  • Yumna Ismail

    London

    4/07/2019

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    Despite sending a surveyor and providing an all inclusive quote, they failed to fit all our belongings into their vehicle, and despite assurances to return to move the remaining items, did not in fact do so. Further they insisted we pay the balance of payment before unloading our belongings, effectively taking payment for an incomplete job. No compensation received since. Shamefully unprofessional. Do not use them!

    Response:
    Thank you for your e-mail Yumna Ismail. We came and conducted a thorough removal survey at your property and sent through a 5.5T Luton van and 3 professional men. You informed us many items like picture frames, mirrors, plant pots were going to be moved by yourself; however, in the end, we included these within the move as a goodwill gesture. Due to extra items added to the move, a small number of items (which could fit a 7 seater) were unable to be loaded to the van. We assured you we will move these items; however, your husband made the suggestion he would hire a small van and take these items himself. We agreed you could invoice us the cost of the van and any expenses and we will pay this amount. However you choose to do his in your own car and never sent us any invoices for the amount it cost you, we contacted you via telephone and never received any response. With regards to requesting payment prior to unloading, this was agreed with you before you booked the removal job and it is also stated within our contract, as well as our terms and conditions which we sent you.
  • Lesley Morgan

    Kenley

    23/05/2018

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    This company is not a professional removal company. They would be OK for transferring goods. They arrived the day before our move to load up our house with only 2 small 3.5 tons (we were promised a 7.5 & 3.5ton). They thought they were going to be moving stuff that day. Even though my husband had had conversations with Nicki in the office. So they loaded some of our precious house into vans and took them away to return the next day to load the rest. The office then requested another £400 for overnight storage. We had already been billed for £1,700.00. They then never turned up with any other vehicles and despite the removal workers trying their best we were still moving at 10pm that night. Thankfully the new owners of our house weren't moving in on the same day. The whole thing was a shambles. Goods were damaged. One of the workers crushed my foot under the rear lifting plate and I was left in Agony and with bruising for days afterwards. We have only now decided to voice our disappointment. The manager came personally to hassle us for payment before the move was completed. We moved from 5 bedrooms to 3. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

  • Oleg Shabunin

    London

    27/12/2017

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    Before unloading I was asked to pay full agreed amount plus 40 pounds for used wrap to pack sofa and one of matrasses (onother one was not covered) I was not not informed on the extra charge before materials were used, so I was surprised and asked it. The answer I got that it was their mistake but I had to pay and if I saw they used material it was my obligation to check the price with them. I asked what is the logic to use wrap on one matress and not use for another so I may expect it was not necessary to use it for another one, however the answer was that they dicide it themselves. I had to clarify with thier office the situation, however the answer was simple before I pay the full amount they will not unload my staff. IT delayed my move, I was not in my schedule that I was agreed with moving company and I had to pay extra charge which was not agrred in advance nor approved by me. I was also intimidated that I need to pay extra hours. Terrible experiencw

    Response:
    Mr Shabunin,In response to your opening statement we sent full terms and conditions along with our quote (this detailing terms you agreed upon).Such as full payment before unloading at your new address, materials not included within your quoted price and at no point did we agree this was a mistake. If you enter a contract you should be fully aware of the terms of that contract; your delay in making the payment and sending us a cropped screenshot (not an actual transaction) to make us continue unloading- under the trust that you had paid the remaining balance. We then had to stop again as your payment was not made and it was our right to remind you of the T's & C's because of this further waste of time that we will apply a waiting charge as you was not being honest with payment, it was only then you decided to make the payment. This was not to intimidate you but only to make you see the reality you was creating.Our quote, terms and conditions- along with communication throughout your moving process was transparent at all times.We feel shocked that you would write such a review due to your lack of understanding and or responsibility of your contractual agreement.As removal professionals the majority of our jobs are at a fixed agreed price and clearly stating if materials are or are not included within that price. In your particular case you wanted the lowest possible quote and because of this we provided you with a low quote but with materials not included.We did not apply a waiting charge for wasting our time when you delayed payment for nearly 2 hours. This was because we felt you misunderstood or did not read T's & C's properly due to your move being booked only a day before your move was to take place.Taking into account your last minute move and claims of not understanding your quote, we further discounted your materials as follows; You paid £35 for 5 large boxes, a shrink wrap roll, tape, and bubble wrap.If you purchased these materials the total cost would be over £50.However we tried to accommodate you with a reduced price mainly to allow our team to continue your move and not to cause any further delay.RegardsShane
  • Alexander Agyapong

    Carshalton

    2/07/2019

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    I found Britain Removals on comparemymove.com. Jerry and a lady came over to do the house survey. On the day of the move, 4 guys turned up at my house and seemed to get on with the job. I had to buy fuel for a third van to pick up some of my stuff because the survey was so poorly done. The removal men didn't wear any shoes covers. They were reckless and unprofessional. They damaged one of the doors and the company has refused to take responsibility.At the delivery address, the attitude and behaviour of the men got worse. They argued with us when we pointed out scuffs made by them in a brand new house.
    I have dealt with some useless companies but this is by far the worst one. Their insurance is useless. I will never use them again and I don't recommend. Absolute useless.

    Response:
    Thank you for your feedback Alexander. We came and conducted a thorough removal survey at your property, and based on this survey we sent 4 men and 2 Luton vans. However, during the move, more items appeared which were not shown to us or listed on the survey report. However to help you out we did not charge you for another man and van which would of the cost you in an excess of £200 instead, we requested you only pay for the cost of the diesel from your old property to the new property. All our staff are professional remover men and they worked really hard to remove your items from the house and during our communication after the work had been completed you also mentioned the guys did a really good job, so I am quite surprised to see these comments. After the work was completed you also requested favours from our staff which were outside the contract which they completed. However, we wish you the best for the future.
  • Jane

    London

    3/03/2018

    Customer Service:
    Value for Money:
    Moving Day:
    Average Rating:
    Review:

    Absolutely shocking. Packers packed carelessly and caused damage and packed our back door keys. Showed up late with inadequate materials. Rude attitude. Massive let down. Will not use again.

    Response:
    Firstly we are really upset and let down with this review you have sent us. When the job was being completed the amount of appreciation you shown it was as if we did a very good job.Yes we were late on the day of your packing which was on 09/02/2018. But we agreed to send out an extra packer due to that, the price we agreed on was for 2 men however due to the removals crew being late we sent out an additional man. And secondly our packers were informed they had to remove their shoes, as this is a health and safety hazard we don't usually agree with this but as a one off for yourself we did. Thirdly we have stated on our terms and conditions to make sure your personal belongings, any valuable items, keys or letters are put away by yourself before the packing starts. Lastly for every removal job and packing our removal crew always inform the customer before they start any job to put away any valuable items, such as keys in this situation. You were informed to keep hold of any keys however you did not and as its a packing job and our removal crew are unaware that you might need these keys, they would have packed them away as on every job our clients are informed prior to start that
    More Information

    Save Up to 70% on Removal Costs

    Save 70% off the cost of your house move today!

    Rated ‘Excellent’ on